The bar is named Eileen in honour of Four Pillar’s largest custom-made copper still – itself named after company founder Matt Jones’s mother. The space wraps around a juniper berry-coloured counter, and Ghoniem has contrasted this bright burst of colour with calming charcoal swathes, exposed brickwork, cork cladding and rich timber surfaces. Here, visitors can try cocktail recipes and learn about gin distillation.
A cluster of small wooden tables and booths are lit by dimmed linen lampshades, whose wooden base evokes the shape of the nearby copper still.
Four Pillars Laboratory is located on the ground floor of the Surry Hills building, constructed in 1939 for a tea company. Its original timber beams can still be seen in places, while inside the bottle shop, bare plaster walls and terracotta-coloured flooring add some warmth to the space, contrasting the darker shades of the bar.